

For Immediate Release

Contact: Jessica Slemons American Boat Builders & Repairers Association (ABBRA) info@abbra.org 401–247–0318

ABBRA Annual Awards Presented At International Marina & Boatyard Conference

Warren, RI—The American Boat Builders & Repairers Association (ABBRA) held its annual awards celebration at the International Marina & Boatyard Conference (IMBC) in Ft. Lauderdale, FL. These awards recognize individuals and companies from the boatbuilding and repairing industry for their excellence throughout the year. Awards were given in six categories in response to each recipient's performance in 2008.

The Dennis Snow President's Award—given annually to the individual or organization that makes a significant and lasting contribution to improving the state of the boatyard industry—was presented to Carl Cramer, Publisher, Professional Boatbuilder Wooden Boat Magazine and IBEX Co-Show Director.

The Award of Excellence in Customer Care was presented to Haven Harbour Marina, in Rock Hall Maryland, in the heart of the Chesapeake Bay. A serious working yard, Haven Harbour is proud of the high standards it demands from its 36 staff members, all experts in their fields, a large percentage of whom are certified by both ABBRA and The American Boat and Yacht Council.

ABBRA's Award of Excellence, or ABBRA's "Boatyard of the Year," awarded to the service or repair yard that demonstrates excellence in all facets of business through commitment to customer relations, quality management, and positive vendor and employee relations, was given to Saunders Yachtworks, a pleasurecraft service division of the Saunders Engine Company, in Orange Beach, Alabama. In the 40 years Saunders has been in business, they have honed their service skills to a fine art, making marine recreation luxurious for the yacht owner.

The Excellence in Safety and Environmental Practices award recognized Kelli Thornell-Crete Kelli is President, CEO, Bookkeeper, Receptionist, Cook and self-proclaimed head Bottle Washer of Ink, Inc., which provides safety and health consultation services to general, marine and construction industry employers

The Excellence in Technology award was presented to Lyman-Morse. Lyman-Morse is a custom boat-building yard on the Coast of Maine with a distinguished 200-year history building elegant and formidable sailing and motor yachts.

The Commitment to Training award was given to Steve Kitchin, Marine Industry Training & Education Council (MITEC) Chair and Vice President, Corporate Education and Training at New England Institute of Technology (NEIT). Steve believes deeply in the need to train workers in new



skills and hold them to maintain high standards in the industry. He believes this is the only way this industry will be able to compete in the future.

ABBRA offers its congratulations to all the 2008 Award winners and thanks them for their willingness to share their accomplishments with the rest of the industry. For more information on ABBRA's annual awards' categories and nomination process, please visit www.abbra.org.

The American Boat Builders and Repairers Association (ABBRA) represents over 250 boatyards, repairers, and associated industries in the United States and abroad. As the hub of the boatyard/service-facility network, ABBRA provides its members with the opportunity to exchange information and coordinate efforts to handle matters of mutual concern through open discussions, quarterly newsletters, an annual conference, and training seminars throughout the United States.

ABBRA: Dedicated to the Service and Repair Industry.

###