ABBRA Honors Past President, Jonathan Jones, with Dennis Snow President’s Award at Annual Conference

ABBRA Honors Jonathan Jones, Past President of ABBRA, With Prestigious Dennis Snow President’s Award at the Association’s 2014 Boatyard Business Conference

Fort Lauderdale, FL – January 27, 2014 – The 2014 recipient of the American Boat Builders & Repairers Association prestigious Dennis Snow President’s Award, given for significant and lasting contributions to the boatyard and marine service/repair industry, is Jonathan Jones. The award was presented at the ABBRA Annual Awards Dinner & Annual Meeting during its recent Boatyard Business Conference held January 22nd – 24th in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Jones is a former member of the ABBRA Board of Directors, a Past- President of the organization, and is recently retired as the General Manager and Executive Vice President of Haven Harbour Marina in Rockhall, Maryland. In her remarks during the presentation of the award on behalf of the ABBRA Presidents, Past President and Awards Committee Chair Pam Lendzion said, “It’s no wonder that the Boatyard and Marina Jonathan managed for 23 years regularly garnered top honors, including Chesapeake Bay Magazine’s “Best Resort Marina,” and the coveted national “Excellence in Customer Care” citation from the American Boat Builders and Repairers Association (ABBRA). Haven Harbour took on Jonathan’s personality when he was the GM and Executive VP. The warm professional attitude and impressive immaculate facility earned a loyal following and boaters came from all over the East Coast for Haven Harbour’s first-class repair and maintenance team.” She highlighted his keen awareness of what boat owners want from a boatyard and marina and the pleasant and straightforward way he always provided exceptional service. Lendzion added, “He is the same with his colleagues. He also recognizes that training and supporting his staff is the best way to provide quality service. Much of his time and effort on the job was spent creating a culture that makes the boating experience as enjoyable for others as it has been for himself.”

Past recipients of the Dennis Snow President’s Award include Bill Munger, Conanicut Marine Service; Jack Brewer, Brewer Yacht Yard; Dennis Nixon, Graduate School of Oceanography at the University of Rhode Island; Carl Cramer, Professional Boat Builder Magazine; and Frank Herhold, Marine Industries Association of South Florida. ABBRA Past-Presidents joined current ABBRA President John Fitzgerald for the award presentation.

About American Boat Builders & Repairers Association (ABBRA)

Founded in 1943, ABBRA is a national marine trade organization that represents, is dedicated to, and seeks to strengthen and encourage professionalism in the boat building, marine service, and boat repair industry.